my summer vacation
5:09 p.m. - 2004-07-11

Well, I guess I should write about my trip. We headed out Monday, and met tuff517 and Chuck for lunch. We had great burgers at Centerpoint Station. It was nice visiting with them, and Dixie gave me about 5,000 books, CDs and presents. We had to head on to San Antonio because I had these awesome reservations for $54 a night. I didn�t want to lose the reservation. I was lost for quite a while in San Antonio. This time I�ll blame it on the stupid guy at the hotel. I called three times, and got wrong directions every time. Actually, the third time he just didn�t answer the phone. On the way to the hotel, I got a phone call from a friend of mine in the valley. He gave me a phone number to call, and told me to call it when I got to the hotel. I knew it was his cousin who I had hooked up with 3 years ago. At the time, my friends lived in San Antonio. We drove down to the valley to stay for a while. We all hung out. At first, I wasn�t attracted to the cousin because he�s short and bald. But the more we talked and the more we did other things and the more I saw what a great person he was, the more handsome he became to me. Oh and he was an awesome lover. Bald guys do have much more stamina. We had this really intense affair which involved me going to the valley a couple of times, but then he gave me the whole, �Let�s be friends� shit. I understood, though, because he was separated and going through a divorce. He had to go through all that. It still hurt because I really cared about him a lot. I had even considered moving to the valley to be with him. Well, I didn�t want to be friends with him. So we lost touch. As I was driving around San Antonio all lost, I dialed the number. He said hello and I said, �Papi!� He said, �Chula, where have you been?� And that was it. Suddenly 3 years turned into yesterday. Alyssa and I finally found our hotel. It turned out to be a real crappy one. First of all, I asked in my reservation to be on the lower level because I had a kid. They put me on the upper level in the middle and far from the stairs. The bedspreads smelled like pee, and I didn�t feel very safe at all. A. and went swimming. Then I took her to Tac0 Cabana The next day, we check out of the hotel and went to Sea World. It was a lot of fun. I was comfortable about how I looked, and that helps a lot. We mostly swam in the water part. We left around 5 and headed for the valley. We arrived around 11, and I stopped off and bought beer, got lost and finally got to my friend�s house. The last time I saw them, their daughter was a baby and their son was about 7. Now the daughter is 3 and the son is 10. We had a lot of catching up to do. My friends are both on disability, and they don�t have much. I wanted to spoil their kids so bad while I was there! Also, my friend is into b00tlegging DVDs now. So we had movies to watch that are still in the theater. It was a trip because a lot of them had people going across the screen, or sound that doesn�t match. The plan was to go into Mex. the next morning, but we stayed up late (not to mention that the cousin and I stayed up even LATER..heh). We ended up going to Mex. much later (like after a late breakfast at a great restaurant) and staying there until 5. While there, A. got her hair braided and I took them to the restaurant that I had gone to the week before. They loved it. I dropped a name and got the SPECIAL hot sauce. Wow, that made me feel so important. We headed for the island much later. It was already dark, but we tried to enjoy it as much as we could. We also crashed a motel pool by the ocean so the kids could swim without fear of whatever is in the ocean at night. Definitely would have been better to go one day to Mex. and one day to the island. By the time we got back home, the kids were dropping off to sleep like flies. After some more alone time with my friend�s cousin, I think I got maybe an hour of sleep. So the next day we went for breakfast at the same restaurant as the day before. My friend�s have recently opened a photography studio, so we went there and A. posed for some photos (I had a hat on, and refused to have my pic made). Then A. and I headed out of there. We made it back to San Antonio by about 7:30 or so. This time I had reservations at a hotel that I have stayed in, and I knew what to expect. We headed out for the pool, but I was so tired that I was glad there were some kids there for A. to play with. That way, I was able to sit by the pool and think about nothing. The next morning, we went to the Rip1ey�s H@unted Adventure. It was scary as shit, and I never should have taken A. Once I paid the $30, there was no going back..ha! Then we headed up to see tuff517. She took us out to Gruene for lots of shopping and great food. I absolutely loved it. The best part was getting to shop, visit and eat with Dixie. The worst part was that A. was tired and so was I. The trip had caught up with me big time. I wanted us to take a nap so that we could go bowling with Dixie and Chuck. However, there was no sleep to be had because A. was on some kind of weird, over stimulated high. I decided that taking her bowling would be asking for big trouble. Also, I couldn�t imagine physically lifting a bowling ball at that point. Sadly, we decided to make our way back home. We slept in and missed A.�s basketball game (a conscious decision). I think we have fully recovered now. As for the valley boy, I guess we�ll keep in touch and see what happens. tuff517, next time we will come down on a Friday morning/afternoon and do the bowling thing! Then maybe we could go tubing in New Br@unfels on Saturday. Just a thought! Thanks for taking the day off to spend it with us!

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness