and bye
8:01 p.m. - 2003-12-11

I kind of lost it today. I was telling my kids that they had until Christmas break to get the gang grafitti off of their folders. I mean, it's really getting out of hand. I had forbidden it from day one; however, not all the teachers have been consistent. To be specific, the two teachers I am not speaking to are not being consistent. So today they come in the class and tell me one of the teachers said it wasn't a gang sign. That's when I lost it. I told them how long I've taught school in this area and on and on about how they could get shot if they are flagging the wrong sign when a certain car drives by, etc. Then I said to look up my teaching certifications on the state board of education's website. I didn't say it, but my implication was that the person saying they knew more than me wasn't even certified. I told them that they can be sure of one thing from me, and that is that I am fair and consistent. It's one thing to be a new teacher and to try and learn as much as you can. It's another thing to come in as a new teacher and presume you know it all and proceed to override people with much more senority than you.

I couldn't be more happy that tomorrow is Friday.

Alyssa begged me to put her in this after school program at school. It is the best thing that ever happened to us! I can tutor without her constant (yet normal) interruptions, and she can do crafts and games. The only problem is that I'm ready to go at 4:30, and she doesn't want to leave. Tonight, I caved in and we stayed until 6:00. There's no time to do anything now but go to bed!

Oh, tomorrow is casual day! I haven't had a casual day in like two years. If we bring a canned good, we get to wear jeans!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my God, I have to go. I have to decide what to wear!

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness