parents
9:46 a.m. - 2003-11-05

It occurred to me finally what the problem is with Alyssa. I need to first say that this is not the cafeteria staff. They love her to death. The problems have been only with teachers, and not her teacher. I was laying in bed last night, and I realized what is wrong: They think she is white. It's unfortunate, but a fact that there are many reverse racists in my school. They look at her, and she looks white. She is mine, and I am white. So, they hate her in a superficial way. They next time something happens, I'm going to be very blunt. I'm going to point it out. Pretty much my mind conversation has been like this, "You're treating her like this because you think she's white. If it makes you feel better, she's not." I guess that would open up a whole can of worms. Frankly, it's just how I feel right now. I would probably never say it. I guess these are minor incidents. However, when her heart breaks...mine shatters. I don't even care what's right or wrong. I just get furious. My mom said last night, "When your child hurts, you hurt. Get used to it. It never goes away." Then I thought about all the times she hurt because I hurt.

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness