diamonte downfall
7:26 p.m. - 2003-11-03

I just said something really weird at lunch today. I said, "I can't teach writing for another year...maybe alternating years. I have to go down to 2nd grade for a while. It's weird, though, because I love what I do." It's true. I love writing, and I love teaching it. Sometimes I just want to hurt people, though. On Friday, we wrote diamonte poetry. Today, they said, "What's a diamonte?" A kid came up to me 3 times with this as his title: Subject. What the? It's not like I told him all three times that he couldn't have "Subject" for a subject. God damn. I finally told him to stop coming up and showing me the same thing over and over. Then I realized they were all just coming up to me every 5 seconds so that they could get out of working. I'm doing all the writing. That's when I wanted to hurt someone. Here's my diamonte about today:

teacher

frustrated, overworked

caring, loving, educating

inspires, encourages, tires, wears

irritating, complaining, peeing

lazy, careless

student

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness