It takes the whole village...
8:57 p.m. - 2003-08-04

I used to work with a teacher who would to say, "Give me a stick and a dirt floor, and I can teach." I never really knew what he meant until today. I went to help Joy work in her classroom at her "new" school. The building was built in 1909. It was old, run down and kinda filthy. You know what? Everyone there was happy and excited to be there. It's all about attitude. These teachers basically have a stick and a dirt floor, and they couldn't be more thrilled about it. Joy's room is pretty big, and she's making it look very cute. She is going to have an awesome year. The whole thing reminds me of why I started teaching in the first place. I'm returning to my school, which is basically a new building; and I couldn't be dreading it more.

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness