Dedicated to the gallon of milk that expires tomorrow
5:31 p.m. - 2003-07-06

When I told my mom I was depressed that everyone had a brand new house with brand new furniture except me, she reminded me of something. She said they were all ten years older than me, and that maybe in ten years I could have all that. I just wonder what difference will ten years make? Will I have more money? I doubt that.

Two marriages and ten thousand men later (not really ten thousand, okay?), I find myself with a cynical outlook on love. I wish I had acquired it at a younger age. Then I wouldn't have been burned so many times. But life is a journey. Let's just say I took the thorny, painful path.

I went to Kohl's and bought a new shower curtain (just the lining one because I found a great, hardly used one during the pillaging of my apartment). I also bought new kitchen towels. This is always a difficult task for me because I immediate forget what colors are in my kitchen. I almost tried to go red, but then I remembered that my bedroom was red. So, I chose yellow. It's a good thing because I got home and saw most of my stuff is trimmed in yellow in the kitchen. I wanted to buy new bath towels, but there were too many. There was no way I could select towels with so many choices.

Okay, so I went a little Flylady (www.flylady.com) this weekend. Last night, I shined my kitchen sink. Just do it. You'll love it. joy is the one that first told me about it. Then gofigure mentioned it in her diary. Isn't it weird how we all gravitate to the good web sites? Today, I'm working in the kitchen zone. It's amazing what a little decluttering can do for the soul.

Oh, Alyssa is on punishment. I can't really explain what happened. Well, let me try. We were leaving to go to my mom's. She was taking forever and forever on her hair (yes, she is only 5 years old). I finally had to physically drag her out of the apartment. She was screaming and crying. I was so embarrassed. So, on the way she is writhing and screaming in the back and kicking the car door with both feet. I was reaching back and spanking her, but she wouldn't stop. I finally started wacking her with my car shade thing that goes in the front window. It's a lot softer than my hand. She wouldn't stop, and she wouldn't stop. Keep in mind that this is about her hair. We got to my mom's, and I dragged her out of the car. I basically threw her to the threshold of my mom's door. I reached back with both arms. I was sooooo furious, and I was going to let her have it. My mom grabbed my arms in mid-air, and stopped me from spanking her. Then I had a second to get it together, and I was so glad that she had intervened. It's so ironic that my mom stopped me. No one ever stopped her when she was completely pissed out of her mind at me. Anyway, then I got the whole speech about how Alyssa is exhausted, and she (get this...she says it EVERYDAY) is on an adult schedule. What exactly is an adult schedule? Does that mean I am clubbing it up with my kid? Are we going to peep shows? What exactly is a child schedule? Please, let me know if you know. Well, we are staying home this week. Alyssa is going to work on her temper, and I'm going to work on my temper also.

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness