No writer's embellishment here
10:13 p.m. - 2003-05-09

Okay, well it might be tacky for me to give a review of a memorial service. I just can�t let this go, though. A student of mine lost her grandmother to a very long illness. So, I went to the prayer service tonight. *whew* Where do I start? This really happened. I swear. A cell phone rang. A woman answered it. Then she went down the aisle with the phone to her ear. Then she had a conversation in the foyer, and I could hear it. What the fuck? She is a parent at my school. She was sitting with another parent at my school. I think they are somehow related to each other and the dead woman. So, she returns to her seat and proceeds to tell the girl next to her about her phone conversation. Then when the other girl�s man got there, they both started balling�boo-hoo-hoo. We are so sad. Comfort us because we are so sad, and we cannot stop crying. Ugh. After the preacher spoke, family and friends were invited up to the pulpit to speak. That�s right, open mike. So one of the sons gets up there. He said, �Know what I�m saying?� seven times. I counted. He also said that his mom looked as �beautiful as hell� twice. I kept thinking, �Hell is not all that beautiful last time I checked.� He also said "fuckin'"at his mother�s funeral�for no reason. It was just peppered in there. I was really surprised to find out the grandmother was only 52 years old. That�s so young! Apparently, she suffered quite a bit. One of the sons said he was glad it was over.

After the service, Alyssa and I went to Chili�s. Even though I have a date on Tuesday night, I had the grilled shrimp with fettuccini alfredo. Alyssa ordered a corn dog with French fries. She ate approximately 2 French fries. Then we went by my mom�s and scared the crap out of her because she was already dead asleep.

I was getting all stressed out about planning this wedding shower for one of the teachers on my team. I was stressed because team and us are an oxymoron. It�s just Joy and I trying to make Andrea�s shower nice. The other two bitches don�t give a crap. I keep wanting to say, �What if this were your wedding shower.� Anyway, I finally decided to take action and get other people involved�people who I can count on. Now, the shower is going to be rockin�. The thing I need to not get upset about, though, is that the two bitches will probably get some credit for this shower, and I don�t want them to get any! What does it feel like to sit back, let others do all the work and then take the credit? I do not know because I have never done that. I think some of these mean people need to write a how-to book for nice people like me.

I am going to risk saying that I am back to normal health. I keep thinking how out of it I was last Sunday and Monday�OUT. OF. IT. I have never felt that way. I hope I never do again, too!

I have come to the frightening conclusion that I cannot drink alone. So, I have all this liquor and beer that I bought, and no desire to consume it. I suppose life will continue.

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness