My weekend in a nutshell
9:48 a.m. - 2003-01-12

Last night, I watched The Others. I was sooooo scared! The hairs were standing up on the back of my neck when I was watching it. I couldn't watch it in it's entirety because everytime my daughter came in the room, I had to flip to football (sure to get her out of the room fast). Then she came in to go to bed, so I had to switch to Saturday Night Live (what, you say a 4 year old shouldn't watch that either? Well, what the hell can I watch on t.v., then??). So, she went to sleep really fast and I switched back. So anyway, that was a scary movie. When I turned the lights out last night, I was scuuurrred!

I am really proud of myself this weekend because I brought home nothing to work on. There are no stacks of papers or buckets of lesson plans sitting here waiting for the free ride back to school (because when I do take stuff home, I don't work on it anyway). I am okay with that. I'm more than okay!

Here is a historical event that I would like to record: I actually made my mother laugh yesterday! My daughter started lecturing us about fighting. We told her that we were not fighting. She said she knew that, but she was just letting us know. The conversation went kind of like this:

my daughter-Grandma, this is your daughter and ya'll should not fight. She is your little girl, okay?

my mom-We're not fighting.

my daughter-I know that, Grandma. I'm just telling you, okay?

my mom-Oh, I see...just for future reference.

my mom turns to me and says-What do you think about that?

me-I think that's a clear case of the pot calling the kettle black!

My mom actually threw her head back and laughed. She got my joke! She understood that I meant my daughter is the queen of arguing. This is significant to me. My mom thought I was funny.

On Thursday, I wore a dress to school that is years and years old. I got it at a garage sale for like $7. I don't wear it often. When I do wear it, I wear it with a jacket or a vest because it's very plain. I had this outfit preselected, of course; but that morning I was distracted a bit. I walked out of the house sans jacket. So, my principal sees me and basically tells me I look horrible. She said it was not a flattering outfit for me at all. My feelings were not hurt. I said I knew that it wasn't that great, but I had forgotten the jacket that would have made the outfit. She was all worried that she had offended me. She really didn't. Other people were highly offended for me, but I was alright. When I got home, I threw the dress into the trash! I told my mom the whole story (she thought that was funny too). She told me to take her credit card and go buy some clothes. Yeah, I think I will do that since all my money is going to go to paying off the IRS (long story...I screwed up on my W4).

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness