The one man I would have in my life
10:34 a.m. - 2002-11-24

(Godspeed, little man. Sweet dreams, little man. Oh my love will fly to you each night on angels wings. Godspeed. Sweet dreams.)

Dear Dad,

I just used your old shoeshine kit to shine my daughter�s shoes (Man, you would be so crazy about her!). I thought about the hours and hours I watched you sit and polish your own shoes. Remember when I was 4 years old and you took me outside with a camera so we could take pictures? You had to go back in to take a phone call or something. You gave me the camera and said, �Whatever you do, don�t touch that button.� Well, I touched it, and the number changed. So, I kept touching it trying to get it back to the same number. You were the one I could tell things without you getting on to me. You were the one I would call to get the accidents out of the bathtub. I remember the time when I was in college and I shaved underneath my hair and dyed it black. We didn�t speak for so many days because you were so pissed off at me. We were both very stubborn and neither one of us was going to give in and speak. Then one day you just grabbed me as we were passing each other, and you held me and said we had to talk now. You said you couldn�t go on like that. I�m so glad you did that. Even after I got married, you were the one I would call when there were big giant bugs. If I could only have one more day to spend with you�just one more day. I miss you so much that I�ve been numb for a lot of years. I love you, Laurie

(I wished I was smarter. I wished I was stronger. I wished I Loved Jesus. The way my wife does. I wish it had been easier. Instead of any longer. I wish I could have stood where you would have been proud. But that won't happen now. That won't happen now.)

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness