Don't panic
8:31 p.m. - 2002-11-23

(All God's children need traveling shoes. Drive your problem from here. All good peple read good books. Now your conscience is clear. now your conscience is clear.)

I had the most awesome day today. It was an alone day for the most part (my daughter wanted to spend the night with grandma), and here�s what I did. I went to Barnes and Nobles and just sat on the floor and looked at books. I limited myself to only 15 minutes in the teacher section, and forced myself to look at books of other interest to me. One of the books I ended up buying is a piano book. I love to play the piano, and I want to get back to it. I have a piano at my mom�s house. One of the books I bought was called The Soup Book. It boasts that it is the only soup book you will ever need. I found this great recipe I wanted to try tonight. I bought all the ingredients for it. Then I came home, took a nap, got up and made this delicious soup. I ordered in The Panic Room and just finished watching it. I�m really proud of myself because I�m being true to myself. I�m not writing on here and telling all my friends that I�m through with men, and then secretly trying to call up some dude right now just because I have the apartment to myself. I am facing myself, and I feel really cool about that.

My thoughts on The Panic Room:

Understatement of the movie: When Jodie says, �Uh-oh.�

Could have done without: Daughter making mother cuss (�Say fuck, mom. Tell them to get the fuck out of our house.�)

Laughable moment: When one of the bad guys told the other bad guys to keep it quiet because people were trying to sleep next door.

Believable lie: When the husband told them he had not called the police. I believed him too.

Frustrating moments for me: 1.When I kept yelling at Jodi to blink a signal to the police, and she wouldn�t listen. Even when the officer said she could signal them by blinking. (By the way, those cops were much more patient than the cops that have answered some of my calls.) 2. Jodi�s scream of helplessness and frustration when her husband was getting his brains beat out. 3. When Jodi left her daughter to go get her insulin. I would have taken her with me so we wouldn�t be separated. Also, shouldn�t emergency insulin be stocked in the panic room? See, I am always thinking.

Most painful moments for me: Watching 22 million dollars in bonds blow in the wind. Not knowing if Forest Whitaker is going to do prison time, or if he redeemed himself during the crime.

(I saw from the cathedral you were watching me. And I saw from the cathedral what I should be. So take my lies and take my time. Cuz all the others want to take my life.)

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness