The Curi0us Incident of the Man in My Apartment
8:10 p.m. - 2006-05-19

Cool things that people have done for me since a man kicked in my apartment door, I stabbed him, he punched me and then he took my laptop computer:

My brother bought me a new knife, since it was the knife he bought me before that was taken into evidence. He also bought me a smaller switchblade which I carry when I am moving my things out of the aformentioned apartment.

My sister-in-law has helped me move, helped me organize and helped me relax (pedicure).

My friends have spent their days off and after work helping me move.

My mother has accepted my daughter and me into her home.

My aunt sent me money to get therapy for what happened to me.

A detective who was trying to be sensitive said, "Don't worry if you start feeling bad. That is perfectly normal."

My priest told me that I committed no sin, and that my feelings of hatred are normal right now.

People have e-mailed and called to tell me a lot of kind things.

My neighbors were very concerned and supportive. One of them lost two dishtowels to my bloody nose.

My friends and family are actually bragging on me for being so Um@ Thurman and protecting my young.

During this incident, I was on messenger with a friend in CA. Since then, we've spoken on the phone a couple of times.

Many people have admitted to me that they don't know if they would have reacted the same way if it had happened to them. I assure them that I had the same doubts; but when your child is there, instincts do kick in.

Uncool things people have said to me since 'the incident':

"You should have grabbed his arm when he went to hit you, twisted it back behind him and flipped him onto the ground. Then you could have put your foot on his neck so he wouldn't move. I'll teach you how to do that." (huh?)

"You should have stabbed him in a vital organ and then held him down until the police arrived." (again, huh?)

"Did you know him? Was he one of your neighbors?" (Yes, we had tea together last Sunday.)

"I wish someone WOULD break into my house. I have fourteen reasons why they should. I wish they would." (Apparently this person has 14 loaded guns? I didn't ask.)

"Too bad you didn't have a gun. You should have killed him." (Would I want my daughter to wake up to that? I'm just glad he left.)

"Why didn't you hide?" (He had already seen me. Was I to hide behind my sleeping daughter?)

"In that neighborhood, it wasn't a matter of if, it was a matter of when."(Thanks for the heads up.)

and numerous, numerous statements that start with, "You should have..."

I guess it's like any other tragedy? If you don't know what to say, don't say anything at all.

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness