I'm my own grandpa
8:37 p.m. - 2003-10-26

Today in the Target, my mom mentioned a conversation she had yesterday with my cousin. He said to her, "I know who my dad is now."

He knows now that his father was his grandfather. My aunt told him because a cousin was on his way to tell him. Apparently he had promised him that when his mother died, he would tell him who his father was.

We (my mom and I) thought he knew.

After 57 years, he knows. All those years with his mother and she never told him. His mother never told him that she was also his sister. I guess it would be hard to say.

It's the first time I've ever cried in a Target.

I told my mom on the phone tonight that I thought he knew, and that is why he has had so many problems (alcoholism, no job, involvement with a guy who is a loser). She said, "No, he had those problems because that's what that kind of thing (inbreeding) can do." Then she said, "Of all the boys, he was the most like my dad." That is really the most she has ever said about the whole thing.

It's a secret that has weighed so heavily on them. Now it's not a secret anymore. He's my uncle. I think we'll stop by and see him on the way home tomorrow. And yes...they are from Arkansas.

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness