freaky friday
6:55 p.m. - 2003-07-18

Today was one of the weirdest days ever. Alyssa and I headed over to Joy's to watch videos. We even went to the movie store (Blockbuster). That is a rare thing for us to do. We had lunch on the way. Then Joy text messaged me that she was coughing up blood and to hold off coming. Joy got her tonsils out yesterday, and can't talk. So, she has a little board to carry around and write on, or she uses the text message on her cell. Then she said to come on. So we got there, and her doctor wanted her to come in to the office. Actually, she went to a different doctor because hers was out of town. So, we get there and do the usual waiting for the doctor thing. Then they call her back. Next thing I know, she is on the way to the emergency room. It was strange because Joy walked out all normal, but the doctor seemed in a panic. He was like clearing the way and saying, "We have a medical emergency here." Then they disappeared. Alyssa and I find our way to the emergency room through what seems like a maze and an endless number of stops (mostly me having to get situated as I am carrying my stuff, Alyssa's stuff and Joy's stuff). We finally get to the ER, and they have no trace of her. Sometimes I wish I were more aggressive. I called her husband and told him to come to the hospital emergency room. Anyway, I call the doctor we just left and they tell me she went straight to the operating room. Oh my GOD!!! I called her mother and told her what was going on. It was all so surreal. Finally when Michael arrived, we found out there was an operating room waiting room (as opposed to the emergency room waiting room). When we arrived there, we found out that Joy was already going under from surgery. I felt bad because they said Joy had been looking for me. They said emergency room, so that's where I went. The nurse did not seem concerned about the surgery, yet she didn't know if Joy would have to stay overnight or not. So Alyssa and I left, and I'm about to call the hospital. I'll keep you posted on Joy.

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness