The g00d, the bad and my m0ther
9:29 a.m. - 2002-12-21

There�s a little girl in my classroom who is absolutely a joy. She is intelligent, polite and sweet. If I told her to go home tonight and learn Japanese, she would do it. When I yelled at my class about being thugs, she got so upset that she cried. Her family always brings me things like pan dulce, loaves of bread and pancake breakfasts. When I took off for two days because I was mad at my class (click for full story), they gave me a really nice watch. For my part, there are ways that I have helped them that go above and beyond my job description.. Their 5 year old son was missing one afternoon for about an hour, and I stayed with the girl at school while they went searching. For the gift exchange yesterday, she didn�t have anything. I took her to the store (with parent permission) and let her pick out a gift, and I paid for it. Yesterday, I was in my classroom after school and the little girl came in my room and gave me a diamond ring. It�s the most beautiful diamond ring I have ever seen. I didn�t know what to do. I started crying. I just stood there saying, �Thank you�thank you.� I waited a few minutes for her to come back and say, �It�s a mistake. We need it back.� I know that her father works in a jewelry store. So, I guess it�s really no big deal for them to get jewelry. For me, well�this ring is definitely on my list of things I wanted to buy for myself (I might have mentioned it here in my diary, but I can�t find where). I just never thought it would happen.

Today is Christmas at mom�s. I am in charge of appetizers, brownies and rolls. She also has me on standby for the store. I wonder why she thinks it�s so easy for me to go to the store. Yesterday, I went to get the rolls after work. I had to carry a dead asleep 4 year old through the store to do this. It triples your time in the store when you have to lug 45 pounds. I can�t leave her in the car! I can�t NOT get the rolls for mom. She has no idea what hardships she puts upon me. When we went by her house to drop off the rolls, she had me set the VCR, check her blood sugar, wrap presents and set the table for Christmas dinner. That�s all fine and dandy. The problem lies in the fact that she has already forgotten what I have done by now. When my uncles were here, I helped (click for full story). However, during two recent arguments she has said, �When my brothers were here, you didn�t help me.� So, I told her, �I don�t see the point in helping you at all because you will just forget, and say I never help you.� Her sarcastic response, �Sure�poor Laurie. Your mother is the reason for all of your problems.�

My mother sees nothing good in me. She is shocked by every friend I have (�You should hold on to them. For some reason, you have them fooled.�). She thinks everyone has an underlying reason for any gift they may give me (comment about ring��Are you sure this is just a Christmas present?�) . She pretty much takes the joy out of anything. I�m learning not to share things with her. Whenever it�s Alyssa�s birthday, she acts like I�m inconveniencing people by inviting them.

Last night, she gave us our Christmas presents�money. Alyssa told her, �Grandma, I don�t want this money. I want you to give me a Christmas present.� Enough said. Even a 4-year old sees it.

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness