Angels watching 0ver us
3:22 a.m. - 2004-08-14

Friday evening, Alyssa and I were driving home from the Super Target. We were both as happy as clams because we bought a lot of stuff (thanks to grandma's credit card). The trunk of the car was full of food and school supplies. Yay! The rest of the evening was going to be Bl0ckbuster and chillin' at the crib.

Amazing how one split second can change your whole life. I was on a 4 lane street traveling at normal speed. I saw a car stop at the stop sign, and then proceed forward. I thought he was going to stop at the halfway point. He didn't stop. I honked, but it was too late. The car plunged into my side of the car. We spun around as the car continued to push us up onto some apartment property. Both windows on my side shattered all over me. Not a splinter of glass got on A. It took me a while before I could physically get out of my car. I couldn't locate my cell phone, and I was disoriented. I watched the man who rammed into us get out of his car and slowly walk away. He didn't even see if we were okay. Angels appeared out of nowhere...an old playmate of A.'s and her mom saw the whole thing, notified police and stayed with us until the ambulance arrived. Witnesses came pouring out to the police providing all the information they could. My sister-in-law arrived and took us and our groceries home. I showered, reported the accident on-line and then she took us to get my mom's car. Then I decided that A. and I should go to the hospital. I had refused the ambulance because I have never been in an accident. I really didn't know what to do. I figured it might somehow cost me some money (I still don't know if it will). We were both released from the hospital around 3 a.m. We are both fine, but sore. Lots of prayers of thanks are offered up tonight because I am sitting here writing in my diary. If you were wondering, seatbelts really do save lives.

side note: I just called my mom to tell her we were homeand okay. She told me that she has a coupon for me to get her car washed (what the fuck?!?).

side note again: I usually throw everything I buy all in the backseat of the car. Something told me tonight to put it in the trunk. Also, a little voice told me that guy wasn't going to stop; but I didn't listen to that voice. It's just interesting how our gut knows. Also, A. can scream really loud!

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness