It's not easy being single
9:33 p.m. - 2003-10-23

Okay, I am really proud of myself because I was upfront and honest with everyone tonight. Well, mostly everyone. See my friend who is hooking me up with her friend's cousin called and asked what was I going to do. I told her the situation: that Amarillo guy had called and would be coming into town, but hadn't called to confirm. She said that was cool, but she needed to know something within about an hour. Okay, so I decide to call Amarillo guy myself. He said he was coming into town and that we could go out Friday night or Saturday night. I'm tell him that's fine, and he can call me when he gets in town to firm up plans. Well, I know my mom isn't going to babysit two nights in a row. Also, I don't even want to be away from my daughter two nights in a row. So, I call him back. I said, "Look, here's the deal. I know for sure that I can go out Friday night because my daughter is spending the night with my mom. I have a workshop Saturday morning, and that way she can sleep late. So, it is highly unlikely and improbable that I could go out Saturday. Friday is the only night." So, he's all totally understanding and cool with that. He even invites me along to the pre-going out session (Frightfest at Six Flags). I tell him that I am like two exits down the highway from Six Flags and I have a season pass. So, it's all gravy. Then I called my friend, and told her the truth. I told her that this guy is coming in town, that last time he came I kind of stood him up and that I want to cancel with her and go out with him. She's totally understanding and cool with that. She is even going to call the guy and cancel it for me. The dishonest part is that she will tell him I couldn't get a sitter after all, and we will have to reschedule. I think that's a fair lie for a potential blind date.

Normally, I would have lied to everyone and ended up in a real pickle, and more than likely all alone.

Now...to pick just the right outfit for Six Flags and afterwards. I'm so glad I got my nails done today. Also, I need to loosen up a bit because we are going out with all his biker friends. I have never been out with biker people, and I don't want to have that look on my face that says, "Oh my God. I have so never been out with biker people."

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness