Racial Hillbillies
7:48 p.m. - 2003-10-16

So I'm sitting around at my mom's house with another sister of hers and my cousin...the cousin whose mom just died. They are discussing some cleaning that needs to be done in the house. My cousin remarked that the second bedroom is such a disaster that he just keeps the door closed. My aunt says that will soon change, and they will be clearing it out. She says, "Some of that stuff is heavy, and you shouldn't try to move it yourself." My cousin says, "Oh, I'll just hire a Wet Vac to clean it out." As I ponder what he just says, these things go through my mind, "How would a wet vaccuum cleaner help him move this stuff? I thought my aunt (the one who is there) just bought them all new carpeting. I wonder why it is that dirty already?" Then it hits me. He didn't say Wet Vac at all. He said WETBACK! I said, "Wait a minute! What did you just say? Did you say what I THINK you said?" Of course, that would have been more effective without the time warp in between what he said and my reaction. My aunt jumps in for him and says, "Yes, he said that and he knows he shouldn't say that at all." Okay, so let it slide because his mom died yesterday. Let it slide because my daughter is sitting in his lap and she has no idea that he just offended half of her heritage. Let it slide because he really, truly probably doesn't know how offensive and wrong he is. Let it slide, Laurie. And then we all went out to eat at Texas Roadhouse (my first time and it was awesome), and my aunt paid. The End.

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness