Beautiful
5:35 p.m. - 2003-02-06

Today was the 100th day of school. I had my students write a paper. They could write "If I had 100.." or "I would not want 100..." Some of my favorites that they wrote about were: If I had 100 wishes..., I would not want 100 cigarettes (then I would die 100 ways), If I had 100 hopes..., I would not want 100 drugs..., If I had 100 puppies..., and I would not want 100 puppies. One boy that was really fat wrote that if he had 100 dollars, he would buy 100 cheeseburgers. That made me laugh a lot. I wish I could do like a Fear Factor and make them eat 100 worms or 100 cockroaches. That would be cool.

Yesterday in the grocery store, there was a little bitty pig in the meat department. He was all wrapped up in Saran Wrap. I told my daughter to look. This man got mad at me. He told me I was going to give her nightmares. I thought it was kinda cool and sad at the same time...this little piggie went to market.

My friend Joy is so spectacular. Last night, she went to the movies by herself. I think that is an awesome thing to do, and it is on my list of things to do before I die...I've so wanted to do that. One of the reasons I love her so much is because she's married, but she's an individual. She makes her own decisions. Her husband is there to enhance her life. I know I will never have that, which is why I will never get married again. Oh, I know I didn't pick the right husbands and blah, blah, blah. But I really will not ever be serious about anyone again.

Today, one of my students sang this song in the talent show. I have never heard the song. She sang it so well, and the words were so nice that I cried. Here's the song:

Beautiful - Christina Aguilera

Spoken:

Don't look at me

Every day is so wonderful

And suddenly, it's hard to breathe

Now and then, I get insecure

From all the fame, I'm so ashamed

I am beautiful no matter what they say

Words can't bring me down

I am beautiful in every single way

Yes, words can't bring me down

So don't you bring me down today

To all your friends, you're delirious

So consumed in all your doom

Trying hard to fill the emptiness

The pieces gone, left the puzzle undone

Is that the way it is?

You are beautiful no matter what they say

Words can't bring you down

You are beautiful in every single way

Yes, words can't bring you down

So don't you bring me down today...

No matter what we do

(no matter what we do)

No matter what we say

(no matter what we say)

We're the song inside the tune

Full of beautiful mistakes

And everywhere we go

(and everywhere we go)

The sun will always shine

(sun will always shine)

But tomorrow we might awake

On the other side

'Cause we are beautiful no matter what they say

Yes, words won't bring us down

We are beautiful in every single way

Yes, words can't bring us down

So, don't you bring me down today

Don't you bring me down today

Don't you bring me down today

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: 37 years old and still ticking

loves: my family and friends

hates: crowds, people who break into your apartment and steal your life

feeling:
peace and happiness